Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Astrid Lindgren (1907-2002) was a Swedish writer.

“ Everything great that ever happened in this world happened first in somebody’s imagination” Astrid Lindgren.


She is perhaps best known for her stories about Pippi Longstocking.

When she died the Swedish Government founded the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award in her memory.

To find out more visit the award website.

This is an international award for literature for children and young people. The aim of the award is to strengthen and increase interest in literature for children and young people around the world, and also to promote children’s rights. It may be awarded to a single person or to several authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and promoters of reading. The award is worth five million Swedish kronor, which is about $ 1,068,684 New Zealand dollars.

Joy Cowley

This year, 175 candidates representing 62 different countries have been nominated for the award by expert organizations from all over the world. What is most exciting is that our very own Joy Cowley is one of the 175 nominated candidates. The winner, or winners, will be announced in Sweden on March 29th at 13:00 CET (central European time) or midnight between Tuesday 29th March and Wednesday 30th March in Auckland. Good luck Joy!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s